Nathan East

Session Bass Player

"AxePort Pro - What a great idea! I love the audio quality and especially the headphone amp for practicing and recording!"


About Nathan East

Nathan is well known for his work with the contemporary jazz group Fourplay along with fellow band mates Larry Carlton, Bob James and Harvey Mason. He began his professional career touring and recording with Barry White. After graduating UC San Diego earning his Bachelor of Arts degree in music performance, Nathan headed to L.A. and eventually found himself a first-call session player working with luminaries such as Quincy Jones, Burt Bacharach, Whitney Houston, Madonna, Barbara Streisand, Michael Jackson, George Harrison, BB King, Stevie Wonder and many more. He became a long time member in the bands of Eric Clapton, Phil Collins, Al Jarreau & Kenny Loggins and performed on Clapton's Grammy Award winning "Unplugged" and Song of the Year "Change The World".

In 1991, Nathan was voted the Most Valuable Player in the bass category at the International Rock Awards and is three time recipient of the National Smooth Jazz Award Bassist of the year. He also won an MTV Award and Britain's prestigious Ivor Novello Award for co-writing the #1 hit "Easy Lover" with Phil Collins and Philip Bailey.

Nathan was honored by the United States Congress with a Congressional Record awarded for his contribution to the worldwide music community. He appeared at the Barack Obama Inaugural Concert "We Are One" at the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, D.C. in January 2009.

He has developed his own signature series bass guitar with Yamaha, the model BBNE2 and also produced an instructional DVD called "The Business of Bass", an in depth look behind the scenes at what it takes to become a professional musician. For more information, check out Nathan East's website.

Click artist for more information

Will Lee Mark Egan Gary Willis Nathan East Scott Thunes Adam Nitti Bryan Beller Doug Johns
Eric Marienthal Ernie Adams Larry Gray John Goldsby Dean Peer Bert Lams David Gans Craig Tweddell
JauqoIII X Vuyani Wakaba Dave Welsch Tom Griesgraber Ahrue Luster Bob Rice Suede Stout Bob Daspit
Kenny Lee Lewis Dean Brown Richard Fortus Trey Gunn Derrick Murdock Uriah Duffy Jeff Richman Ricardo Cobo
Sammy Figueroa Rick Wald Mr. C Robin Danar Arved Ashby B. Frompovich Luciano Antonio Jason Miles
Bob Katz Brian Gardner Dave Hampton Mike Wells Dustin Harris Tom Jung Frank Serafine M. Romanowski
Brad Wood David Bryson            


Click artist for more information

Harry Shearer Jim Thomas Steve King Vanessa Hart Rory O'Shea Dan Lenard Tom Bromhead Harlan Hogan
Beau Weaver Bill Mondy John Taylor Ed Weigle Kara Edwards Paul Strikwerda Amanda Congdon Rick Wasserman
Susannah Kenton Cira Larkin Mike Elmore Nila Sagadevan Mike Dawson Amy Snively Todd Ellis Mandy Nelson
Vanessa Wells Joe Cipriano Bobbin Beam James Clamp John Kapelos Geo.Washington Billy James Vinnie Simonette
Trish Basanyi Dave Battle Pam Tierney John McCalmont Ross Bagley Bill Ballenberg DB Cooper Peter Dickson
JP Linton Roy Yokelson Guy Harris Tanya Rich Jim Tasker Fred Hill Peter Derek Joel Godard
Shelley Baldiga Ian Corlett Chris Ferretti Bob Hurley Dana Lyn Baron