Arved Ashby

Professor of Musicology

"I never thought I'd live to see the day when MP3s could bring tears to my eyes! It's amazing. Before this I could listen to MP3s for only two hours before I got a migraine. Now I can't stop!"


About Arved Ashby

Arved Ashby, associate professor, Fulbright scholar, and AMS 50 fellow, received his Ph.D. in musicology from Yale University with a dissertation on Alban Berg's "Lyric Suite." He has continued work on the historiography of twelve-tone music, and in 1996 received the Alfred Einstein Award from the American Musicological Society for an article on Berg's methodological connections with his teacher Schoenberg. He designed, edited and contributed to the recent collection "The Pleasure of Modernist Music: Listening, Meaning, Intention, Ideology" (University of Rochester Press, 2004). He wrote criticism for the "American Record Guide" from 1987 to 2001, and has contributed more recently to "Gramophone." He also composes.

Arved's book "Absolute Music, Mechanical Reproduction" is available here.

Click artist for more information

Will Lee Mark Egan Gary Willis Nathan East Scott Thunes Adam Nitti Bryan Beller Doug Johns
Eric Marienthal Ernie Adams Larry Gray John Goldsby Dean Peer Bert Lams David Gans Craig Tweddell
JauqoIII X Vuyani Wakaba Dave Welsch Tom Griesgraber Ahrue Luster Bob Rice Suede Stout Bob Daspit
Kenny Lee Lewis Dean Brown Richard Fortus Trey Gunn Derrick Murdock Uriah Duffy Jeff Richman Ricardo Cobo
Sammy Figueroa Rick Wald Mr. C Robin Danar Arved Ashby B. Frompovich Luciano Antonio Jason Miles
Bob Katz Brian Gardner Dave Hampton Mike Wells Dustin Harris Tom Jung Frank Serafine M. Romanowski
Brad Wood David Bryson            


Click artist for more information

Harry Shearer Jim Thomas Steve King Vanessa Hart Rory O'Shea Dan Lenard Tom Bromhead Harlan Hogan
Beau Weaver Bill Mondy John Taylor Ed Weigle Kara Edwards Paul Strikwerda Amanda Congdon Rick Wasserman
Susannah Kenton Cira Larkin Mike Elmore Nila Sagadevan Mike Dawson Amy Snively Todd Ellis Mandy Nelson
Vanessa Wells Joe Cipriano Bobbin Beam James Clamp John Kapelos Geo.Washington Billy James Vinnie Simonette
Trish Basanyi Dave Battle Pam Tierney John McCalmont Ross Bagley Bill Ballenberg DB Cooper Peter Dickson
JP Linton Roy Yokelson Guy Harris Tanya Rich Jim Tasker Fred Hill Peter Derek Joel Godard
Shelley Baldiga Ian Corlett Chris Ferretti Bob Hurley Dana Lyn Baron